Skip to content

Matt Weber

April 11, 2012

I just discovered the work of Matt Weber, a taxi driver-cum-photographer based in New York.
With a prolific portfolio of street photography shot in NYC, I decided to find out more…
Fortunately, there’s an insightful interview on StreetReverb that provides an interesting read.

“I had seen so many things on the streets that I kept saying “If only I had a camera.” I had seen knife blades flickering under the street lights of Hell’s Kitchen and punk rockers having sex on the hood of a car at dawn on Houston Street. A camera seemed like the only way to capture the crazy stuff which was happening almost every night.”

“When I walk around town, I know that most of the time there are going to be very few exciting moments to photograph. I have to have a very optimistic view of what I see on the street. Each time a traffic light turns green and I see a new group of people coming right at me, I see possibilities. Most of the time, what I thought I saw starts to diminish and falls apart, but every now and then the people fall into place perfectly and at least one of the people has something special about the way they look. Happy, sad. Pretty, ugly. Tall, short. Fat, thin. The simplest details when seen side by side or caught in a perfect stride can turn a very average picture into one which is worth taking.”

More of Matt’s photography can be seen at Weber-street-photography.com

Check out StreetReverb for the Full interview

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2012 7:56 am

    This guy is the real deal. The interview on StreetReverb is well worth your time. The guy who he teamed up with to do the book on Coney Island is amazing as well…Mike Peters. Check him out.

  2. Joe permalink*
    April 12, 2012 4:04 pm

    Thought i recognised the name, and just checked…We already posted Mikes work last May!
    We should really establish some kind of archival system to make bygone posts easily accessisible.

  3. April 13, 2012 2:41 pm

    Great stuff. I’ve always wanted to get a shot like the man lighting his nighttime cigarette. But now I don’t think I could top this one.

Leave a Reply

